A land of


Rioja Alavesa occupies about 316 square kilometres, barely ten percent of the area of Alava, and is inhabited by about eleven thousand people, just over 3% of the population of Alava.

There are twenty-three municipalities in the region of Rioja Alavesa: Assa, Barriobusto, Baños de Ebro, Cripán, El Campillar, Elciego, Elvillar, Labastida, Labraza, Lanciego, Lapuebla de Labarca, Laserna, Leza, Moreda, Navaridas, Oyón, Páganos, Salinillas de Buradón, Samaniego, Villabuena de Álava, Viñaspre and Yécora.

The villages that follow stand out because of their size: Oyón, with three thousand inhabitants and an important industrial core, which makes it the economic capital of the region; Laguardia, with fifteen hundred inhabitants, the historical and political capital of Rioja Alavesa; Labastida, with fifteen hundred inhabitants and an important tourist development; Elciego, the noble birthplace of Rioja wine, and home to almost one thousand inhabitants.

More information about Rioja Alavesa

Discover our


Our location

Camino de la Hoya, 01300, Laguardia, Álava (Spain)